AN ORDINANCE 2022-05-05-0302

APPOINTING DEBORAH WARNER, PAUL DRUMMOND, JAY FRANKLIN, LILLIAN RIVERA AND VINCENT HOLMAN, AND REAPPOINTING KAREN FARIAS, ROY LOZANO AND JERRY BRODERICK, TO THE CITIZEN ADVISORY ACTION BOARD FOR TWO YEAR TERMS OF OFFICE.

* * * * *

WHEREAS, pursuant to the provisions of Section 3 of Article 29 of the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the City of San Antonio, Texas and the San Antonio Police Officers' Association, passed and approved by San Antonio City Council on September 1, 2016, the San Antonio City Council must select persons from a list of applicants provided by the City Manager to serve as members of the Citizen Advisory Action Board (CAAB); and

WHEREAS, there are currently eight vacancies on the CAAB, which is composed of fourteen persons, and which hears investigations on complaints made against police officers for misconduct, use of force and violation of the San Antonio Police Department General Manual; and

WHEREAS, the term of appointments on the CAAB will be for a two-year period, to expire on May 5, 2024; and

WHEREAS, applicants were interviewed by a four-person panel, which consisted of Deputy City Manager Maria Villagómez, Chief of Police William McManus, First Assistant City Attorney Elizabeth Provencio, and Captain Timothy Vaughan, and the City Manager and Chief of Police recommend each of the persons listed in Section 1 of this Ordinance; and

WHEREAS, the list of recommended appointees is representative of the diversity of the community, and includes three females and five males, and

WHEREAS, input and recommendation of the San Antonio Police Officers' Association shall be obtained as to the recommended appointees; and

WHEREAS, those on said list must meet the minimum qualifications established by Subsection 143.006(c) of the Texas Local Government Code for service on the San Antonio Fire Fighters' and Police Officers' Civil Service Commission; and

WHEREAS, the City Manager submitted such a list and all of those on that list meet the minimum qualifications; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

1

JK 5/05/2022 Item No. 14

SECTION 1. The following persons are hereby selected and appointed to serve as members on the CAAB:

- 1. Deborah Warner
- 2. Paul Drummond
- 3. Jay Franklin
- 4. Lillian Rivera
- 5. Vincent Holman,

And the following persons are hereby selected and reappointed to serve as members on the CAAB:

- 1. Karen Farias
- 2. Roy Lozano
- 3. Jerry Broderick.

SECTION 2. The service of said members on the CAAB shall be for a term of two years, to expire on May 5, 2024.

SECTION 3. This ordinance shall be effective immediately upon passage by eight affirmative votes; otherwise it shall be effective on the tenth day after passage hereof.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 5th day of May, 2022.

R M 0 A Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

Debbie Racca-Sittre, Interim City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Indrew Segovia, City Attorney



City of San Antonio

City Council Meeting May 5, 2022

14.

2022-05-05-0302

Ordinance appointing Jay Franklin, Vincent Holman, Paul Drummond, Lillian Riviera, and Deborah Warner; and reappointing Karen Farias, Roy Lozano, and Jerry Broderick to the Citizen Action Advisory Board for a two-year term to expire on May 5, 2024. The Citizen Advisory Action Board (CAAB) is also commonly referred to as the Complaint and Administrative Review Board (CARB) [Debbie Racca-Sittre, Interim City Clerk]

Councilmember Viagran moved to Approve on the Consent Agenda. Councilmember Rocha Garcia seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:

Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Castillo, Cabello Havrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage, Perry